Philip Philip Everywhere

Several years ago I visited Manorbier Castle in west Wales. I enjoy walking round old houses and castles – particularly when there’s no one else there and I can maintain an illusion of ownership.

On this day, the castle was all but empty, and as I ambled round, I noticed an awkwardly posed wax figure. He was dressed in chain mail, winding up the portcullis. He seemed familiar. Moving on to the kitchens, I spotted what looked like the same man, this time stirring a pot.

Then I saw him again in another part of the castle – and it dawned on me that these men were all Prince Philip.

I asked a member of staff, who said that, yes, the castle had recently purchased “a job lot” of Philips from Madame Tussauds.

This was all a long time ago, but I sometimes wonder whether the Duke’s been relieved of his duties. Or perhaps he’s now assisted by other job lots…

This entry was posted in General.

One comment on “Philip Philip Everywhere

  1. Elen Ivorian Rogers says:

    Made me smile… thank you!

Leave a Reply

